You are here: 
Training : NEBOSH Courses : International Certificate

NEBOSH International Certificate Course with Astutis

NEBOSH Certificate Course in Saudi Arabia

This course reflects the latest NEBOSH General Certificate syllabus. It was developed and updated by NEBOSH with help from 3000 of the world's leading organisations and industry experts. 

What is the NEBOSH General Certificate?

The NEBOSH International General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety (IGC) is one of the most trusted health and safety qualifications around the world. It represents the role of a real-life health and safety professional.

The course focuses on the real, everyday risks that people encounter and the practical skills you need to manage them. That way, you'll be able to protect people from injuries and boost your company's performance.

NEBOSH Certificate Online Course Facts
Duration NEBOSH recommend a minimum of 133 hours
Units IG1: Management of Health and Safety
IG2: Practical Risk Assessment
Exams 1 online open book exam
1 practical assignment
What is included? 1 year access to course materials
Personal tutor support
2 revision webinars
1 mini mock exam
Study timetable
Access to our exclusive LinkedIn NEBOSH community group

Ask for a FREE course preview

Astutis' NEBOSH certified logoFeefo logo

Why take the NEBOSH Certificate?

By passing the NEBOSH Certificate, you'll be able to:

  • Make sure people are safe from harm by reducing risk in your workplace
  • Protect your company from prosecution by making sure it is health and safety compliant
  • Kick-start your health and safety career with a globally recognised qualification
  • Become more valuable to your employer by helping them improve their safety performance

Who is the NEBOSH General Certificate for?

The NEBOSH International General Certificate is for anyone working outside of the UK and needs a broad understanding of health and safety to be able to manage day-to-day risks, including

  • Health and Safety Officers/Advisors
  • General Managers
  • HR Managers
  • Directors
  • Security workers
  • Public Service workers. 

It's also the perfect starting point for anyone looking to start a career in health and safety. It'll give you valuable transferrable skills that you can apply in any country and industry around the world and puts you in a good position to take on further study. 

What's covered in the NEBOSH Certificate?

The NEBOSH International Certificate is based on international best practice and standards, like the International Labour Organisation (ILO) codes of practice. It's split into two units each covering different elements. 

IG1: The Management of Health and Safety

  • Element 1: Why we should manage workplace health and safety
  • Element 2: How health and safety management systems work and what they look like
  • Element 3: Managing risk - understanding people and processes
  • Element 4: Health and safety monitoring and measuring

IG2: Practical Risk Assessment

  • Element 5: Physical and psychological health
  • Element 6: Musculoskeletal health
  • Element 7: Chemical and biological agents
  • Element 8: General workplace issues
  • Element 9: Work equipment
  • Element 10: Fire
  • Element 11: Electricity

Read the full NEBOSH Certificate syllabus here. 

How is the NEBOSH Certificate assessed?

The NEBOSH Certificate has two assessments:

  • An online open book exam to assess what you know. 
  • A practical risk assessment to assess what you can do. The practical can be completed in your own time and is submitted by post or email. 

Exams are held 4 times a year in March, June, September and December.

How hard is the NEBOSH Certificate?

The NEBOSH Certificate is a level-3 qualification and takes around 113 hours to complete. You'll be introduced to concepts and terminology that you’re not familiar with, especially if you’re new to health and safety. And you’ll be asked to discuss these topics in detail in your exam.

But don't worry, you'll be given plenty of help and support. Our online course uses a unique 3-pillar learning framework to make sure you can understand, discuss and apply topics and feel confident to sit your exam. 

Over 300,000 people have achieved the NEBOSH Certificate. So as long as you commit the right time to studying, you'll be able to pass too!

Take your NEBOSH Certificate course online  

Develop the fundemental skills to manage health and safety and kick-start your career with our interactive online course. 

With our NEBOSH Certificate online course you can learn when and where you want, on your computer or mobile device. This interactive NEBOSH Certificate course helps you pass the exams with tutor support, revision webinars and mini mock exams.

Find out why you should take our NEBOSH Certificate online course

Find out more

Online Learning

Interactive online course with tutor support
Discover the benefits of Astutis' online learning...

Buy now

Browse and shop online courses in our secure e-shop
Visit our shop...


How long do i have to complete the NEBOSH Certificate and does it expire?

You need to pass both units within 5 years to achieve your NEBOSH General Certificate. There's no expiration date on the qualification. So once you've passed, there's no need to retake any of the units again. 

What's the difference between the International and National General Certificate?

The NEBOSH National General Certificate and NEBOSH International General Certificate are both versions of the NEBOSH General Certificate. Both versions are the same level and hold the same value. They have the same units, elements and learning outcomes. And they both follow the same exam structure and grading system.

The course content isn’t that much different either. They both teach you how to manage health and safety based on the “Plan-Do-Check-Act” management system. But they reference different legislation and regulation in the finer details.

The National version focuses on UK legislation and best practice including the Health and Safety At Work Act 1974. The International version focuses on best practice and guidelines set out by international bodies, such as the International Labour Organisation (ILO) and International Standards Organisation (ISO). Find out more about the difference between the NEBOSH International Certificate and NEBOSH National Certificate here

Should I go straight for the NEBOSH Diploma, or start with the NEBOSH General Certificate?

The NEBOSH General Certificate teaches the fundamentals of health and safety management. It offers great insight to anyone new to health and safety. The NEBOSH Diploma builds on the knowledge you gain from the NEBOSH Certificate at a higher academic level. It discusses topics in a lot more detail so is better suited to those with experience. We always reccommend you take the NEBOSH General Certificate before taking the NEBOSH Diploma. 

English is my second langauge. Can I still take the NEBOSH Certificate?

Yes, but be aware that the course covers technical health and safety concepts. You'll need to be able to discuss these topics in detail in your written exam, in English, so you should be confident in your reading and writing skills. NEBOSH recommends you have a minimum standard of English equivalent to an International English Language Testing System (IELTS) score of 6.0 or higher. 

What are the course entry requirements?

There aren't any. Anyone can take the NEBOSH General Certificate which is why it's so popular. Everyone from frontline workers right up to company Directors have taken the NEBOSH Certificate.